writing…books…life…

Hi everyone, please welcome Yamini Vijendren on my blog. Today Yamini will share with us how was the experience of writing her new book ‘Full Circle’
Take it away, Yamini.
How did you become a writer?

Writing a book has been a life changing experience for me. I must confess, when I first set out plotting Full Circle, I never imagined myself as a writer. I had my hands full with my infant, and was looking for ways to preserve my sanity without compromising on my time with my little one. Writing, I had been doing right from my childhood, so I naturally gravitated towards it to keep me occupied whenever I found a little me time. I wrote a little story here, a poem there, but never had any idea of writing a full length book, whatsoever. That, until Indireads happened. There I was, searching for small freelance writing assignments to take up, when I stumbled upon the Indireads call for first time authors. The adventurer inside me asked, why not, and I just sent a synopsis, never even imagining that the publishers would love it. The next thing I know, Naheed called me up, eager to discuss on how the small synopsis I sent could be elaborated into a full-length novella.

When I started writing, I had an idea of the course my story should take. However, as the pages progressed, my initial idea ceased to look attractive, and did not gain enough traction. Here, my editors and publisher provided me great support, and after a number of brainstorming sessions, I course-corrected the story, and brought Full Circle to the shape it is today. That was a huge lesson for me, for I understood that while it is ok to start with a plan, even desirable, one also needs to be flexible enough to accommodate changes, and make course-corrections if the plan doesn’t work.

A novel might be a writer’s child, but just as an infant requires doctors to monitor her health, grandparents and siblings to give her a wholesome life, a novel too requires a whole range of people to make it a wholesome experience. What the author provides is only the raw cut sculpture. The editor, proofreaders, beta readers, publishers, reviewers, they all are the ones who make the raw entity into a fine piece of art.

Thank you, Yamini. The simile with sculpting is spot on. Writing involves almost as much work in perfecting and honing a story.

This blogpost is a part of the book tour hosted by The Book Club

 

Full Circle 
by 
Yamini Vijendran
 

 

The Blurb
 Outwardly, Malini is a contented, sixty-something grandmother with a loving family and everything a person could wish for. But Malini has lived her entire life with a secret confined to the deepest recesses of her heart.



Haunted by the past, she travels to Kumbakonam, her native town, which she had left years ago. There, she comes face-to-face with her long-lost love.



After forty years, will Malini be able to reclaim her own life, when love comes knocking at her door once again?

 
Buy @
 
Watch It 

 

 

Meet the Author


 

Yamini Vijendran (@saimini) is the author of ‘Full Circle’, a romance novella published by Indireads. After being a Software Professional for 7 years, Yamini has been freelancing from home for the past 3 years. She loves to dabble in fiction and romance and drama are her favorite genres. Her short stories have been published in ‘Love Stories That Touched My Heart’, an Anthology published by Penguin India, New Asian Writing and Six Sentences. Yamini also likes to pen poems when inspiration strikes, and her poetry has been published in The Indian Review, Contemporary Literary Review of India and ‘A World Rediscovered’ a poetry Anthology by Cyberwit Publications. Yamini draws material for her stories and poems from the world around her. When she is not converting her experiences to stories or poems, Yamini reads, plays with her toddler, and fools around her laboratory, that is, the kitchen.
You can stalk Yamini Vijendran @


                  

 

 

This Tour is Hosted by 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud