writing…books…life…

Here’s an excerpt from Metroreader Author interview, where I was hosted by Arti.

 

Author Interview Series: Interview 2: Dr Ruchi Vasudeva

IMG_487577035865659 (5)Dear readers,

On the interview today we have Dr Ruchi Vasudeva. She can be described as a doctor by profession, a teacher by vocation and an author by destiny. Her inspiration to pen a story came, when as a teen, she read a call for manuscripts at the back of a Mills and Boon novel and began to plot and write. She wanted to do English literature and medical studies for her graduation with almost the same amount of enthusiasm. However, the writing dream got lost while she pursued medical studies. Years later, a contest held by Harlequin for Indian authors gave her a golden opportunity to have her dream realized. She debuted in August ’13 with ‘Bollywood Fiancé for a Day’ and this was followed by ‘You can’t fight a Royal Attraction’ in December 2013 by Harlequin.

Thank you so much, Ruchi, for this interview, I really appreciate your taking time out from your busy schedule.

At the outset, could you please tell the readers about yourself?

Thanks for having me on your blog. You have capped most of the info in my bio. Writing has always been a hobby but it wasn’t till I began to write with the effort to get published that I realized how tough it really is. Understanding the craft which is a never ending process is difficult in itself and getting published traditionally is definitely a challenge but in addition to that nowadays authors have to concentrate on marketing as well, so actually it is two professions combined in one. Maybe, more. So it was a shock that the leisure time was almost gone and in addition had to give up on many things which annoyed a lot of people I can tell you. It took a while to find balance and to tell you the truth it’s still mostly tilted. Time management is the toughest thing to face if you add writing to the life you’re already living.

You always wanted to write, how does it feel to have two titles published in five months?

Absolutely fabulous. When you have the book out there – had to pinch myself many times – people actually buying it, nothing can beat the feeling! Two books out one after the other was a stroke of luck one can just thank the stars for. Definitely I’ll always savour the feeling!

Did you have writer’s block?

I did, a couple of times during the writing of the first book. That’s when I realized that writer’s block is nothing but laziness combined with the inability to properly understand

the characters’ motivations. I’d read back on all that I had written and usually found that I was able to get back on the track. With the second book, I had a tight deadline and nothing was permitted to stand in the way. Maybe the experience I had garnered during the writing of the first book helped.

I know it is difficult for an author to choose between her books, but which of the two, is closer to your heart?

It is difficult but now that you’ve asked, I’d pick You Can’t Fight A Royal Attraction. That story seemed to simply flow from my fingertips, and I really enjoyed writing Rihaan and Saira’s steamy interaction

Any special/ favourite character from among Vishakha, Zaheer; Saira and Rihaan?

While all of them are quite special to me – they’ve been talking in my head for so long! – however Zaheer is quite a favourite. The readers too comment that he’s quite captivating. I like that he has an answer to everything while putting a different spin on the given situation.

What were the challenges faced while writing the book?

Mostly time. When the story is humming in your mind, it’s hard to tear your mind from it and concentrate instead, on the daily life business. However one has to accept that however your Muse would like to, you cannot finish a project in a day…Also writing has to take a backseat to mundane but unavoidable routine!

The other challenge was coping with the direction of the story in which characters seemed to take charge early on. The vague plan in my head went ashambles but I’m not complaining because the final product was better than I imagined 🙂

How do you manage to take out time to write from your busy schedule?

I started by writing after work and on weekends. I have quite a bit of time when I commute so I shifted my files onto my BlackBerry and was able to type on the go. That really added to productivity. I learnt not to wait for the scheduled time for writing. I’ve written in the bus, in the car, the kitchen while waiting for food to cook, even jotted down ideas while in a queue. I’ve written rough drafts of 9-10 books this way. Let’s see when they alight in front of the readers.

How do you manage to take out time to write from your busy schedule?

I started by writing after work and on weekends. I have quite a bit of time when I commute so I shifted my files onto my BlackBerry and was able to type on the go. That really added to productivity. I learnt not to wait for the scheduled time for writing. I’ve written in the bus, in the car, the kitchen while waiting for food to cook, even jotted down ideas while in a queue. I’ve written rough drafts of 9-10 books this way. Let’s see when they alight in front of the readers.

Read the rest here http://metroreader.wordpress.com/2014/07/03/author-interview-series-interview-2-dr-ruchi-vasudeva/

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud