writing…books…life…

A tale of flight and chase is always interesting and The Treasure of Kafur capitalises on the fact. This book is a mixture of fantasy and historical which is spot on. Though I didn’t expect the fantasy element in this tale of the Mughal period and thought it a little unbelievable at first, soon I found it woven into the historical thread.

I don’t usually read fantasy so I found it surprising that I enjoyed it and that speaks much for the book. I got into the story early on because there wasn’t much time to dwell as the story unfolded at a good pace.

Adventure, chase, mayhem, plans, surprises, everything has been worked in skilfully. I admit I was askance about use of actual historical figures in a fictional world but that is only a little hampering. I wished imaginary figures were used but I guess the tension couldn’t have been built that strongly and anyway it wasn’t hard to overlook.

I do wonder if a sequel is in the offing. The characters are engaging enough for one if the author plans it.

All in all I enjoyed reading this and definitely recommend it.

I give it five stars for readabiilty, four for concept, five for the world building without which this story wouldn’t have been what it is.

Read it if you’re in the mood for a fast paced adventure story.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud