writing…books…life…

Get to know Adite Banerjie

Please welcome Harlequin author and dear friend Adite Banerjie. Adite is looking forward to the release of her debut book ‘The Indian Tycoon’s Marriage Deal’. Let’s hear more about the book and the writing journey from the author herself by the way of this question-answer session.

Q: Tell us something about yourself and how you got into writing?

Thank you so much, Ruchi, for hosting me on your blog.

I have been writing so long that I don’t remember a time I wasn’t! Soon after I graduated from college I did a course in journalism and I knew that I wanted to be a writer. After a fulfilling and exciting career in journalism I decided to switch to content writing and researching/writing about social development issues, and consumer and marketing issues. I tried my hand at fiction writing and got hooked to screenwriting. For several years I would crunch numbers and write reports during the day and lurk on screenwriting forums to learn the craft at night. Writing a novel was the only thing that I hadn’t planned to do.  LOL.

Q: Your experience of writing a book – easy as pie or hard as nails?

Actually a bit of both. There were times when I was writing up a storm and the book was virtually flying off my fingers. And there were times when I struggled to write even 500 words. If I wrote 100 words I would cut out 150!

Q: What motivates you to write?

My life pretty much revolves around writing. If I’m not writing a book, I’m working on a script or an article or my blog.

Q: What inspired The Indian Tycoon’s Marriage Deal?

I have always been a fan of Mills & Boon novels that had a revenge theme. And I knew that I had to write a story about a girl who wants revenge. The rest just followed.

Q: Please describe your book briefly.

Here’s the back cover blurb for “The Indian Tycoon’s Marriage Deal”.

 “Krish Dev needs to find a bride—and quick! With a marriage arranged by his father looming, Krish finds the key to his freedom in Maya Shome, but is this dazzling beauty really all she seems? Maya has only one thing in mind: revenge. But when the host of the most exclusive high society party asks her to dance what is meant to be an innocent tango leads to an engagement to Krish—her enemy’s son! Arranging their own marriage could work to their advantage…if they can resist mixing business with pleasure!”

 Q: Tell us about the main characters in your book.

Maya Shome is an independent young woman who has had a pretty tough life. She works as a landscape designer. After the death of her only parent she vows to wreak revenge against the man who ruined him. Krish Dev is the reluctant heir of his father’s business empire. But he has serious issues with his dad and besides he is setting up his own business project. He knows how manipulative his dad can be and will do anything to stay out of his control.

Q: How do you overcome writer’s block?

I have come to realise that a bad case of writer’s block usually means that there’s something in my WIP that’s not working. So I try to look at the problem from different angles and brainstorm different approaches and then go with the one that I think would work best.

Q: Does writing get in your way of life?

Someone very wisely said, “Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.” I think, in my case, the first one is infinitely easier than the second! LOL.

Q: What’s next in your writing plans?

I plan to finish a script that I have begun and am very excited about. I have just finished my second book for Mills & Boon which is set at a big fat Indian wedding.

And here comes our rapidfire round:

Favourite movie

Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge (Hindi) and Casablanca (English).

Worst movie

Housefull

Any secret habits?

They are best kept secret! J

Actor you’d fall for in a heartbeat.

George Clooney.

Favourite book

Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh.

Fallback option when the fridge is empty 😉

Domino’s pizza or any other takeaway!

What comforts you when things go bad?

Playing with my dog.

Your most comfortable outfit

T-shirt and jeans. 

Great answers, Adite! Lovely to have you here and looking forward to reading your book.

You can find her at:

Website :  http://aditebanerjie.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AditeBanerjieWriter

Twitter: @adite

Buy her book at :

Infibeam

Makemeread

Comments on: "Get to know Adite Banerjie" (6)

  1. Oh, a new blog site! Congrats, Ruchi! 🙂

    Ruchi and Adite: Lovely interview! Wish you both the very best in life.

    Cheers,
    T

  2. Hi Ruchi. Thank you for having me on your wonderful new blog. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud